Home » Hall of Fame » 2010

  • Mike Gousha

    Mike Gousha

    An Emmy award-winning broadcast journalist with a career of over 30 years in Wisconsin, he began his career while still in college in Madison at the Capitol News Bureau in 1977-78 and in 1978 at WIBA radio. After his graduation from UW-Madison in 1978, he joined the news staff at […]

    Continue reading »

  • Bruce Grassman

    Bruce Grassman

    His broadcast career of over 45 years began at the 10-watt college radio station at Mankato State College in Minnesota in the mid-1960s. After his college graduation in 1968, he was a teacher in a business college and a part-time radio sales representative in Duluth. He moved to Wisconsin in […]

    Continue reading »

  • John Hoffland

    John Hoffland

    In a career that spanned five decades, he devoted his professional life to “the news”. A Wisconsin native, he began his career as a teenage disc jockey at WVRQ radio in Viroqua. He attended UW-La Crosse and graduated from Brown Institute of Broadcasting and Kirkwood College in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. […]

    Continue reading »

  • John Laabs

    John Laabs

    His 23 years of service to the Wisconsin broadcast industry transformed the Wisconsin Broadcasters Association and its Foundation into major statewide and national entities. He started his career as a news reporter at WAOW-TV, Wausau in 1970 and after one year embarked on a 16-year career of government service and […]

    Continue reading »

  • Professor Earle Terry

    Professor Earle Terry

    Wisconsin’s “First” broadcast pioneer began experimenting with wireless transmissions while and undergraduate at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, perhaps as early as 1902. He continued his experiments while a graduate Physics student and from the period of 1909 to 1912, made great advances in wireless telegraphy experiments. After 1915, when the […]

    Continue reading »