Home » Hall of Fame » 1989

  • Walter Damm

    Walter Damm

    A Wisconsin broadcast pioneer whose career began in 1922 with Milwaukee’s first radio station WAAK. Headed broadcast operations for the Milwaukee Journal Company for thirty-six years, putting Wisconsin’s first television station, WTMJ-TV, Milwaukee, on the air in 1947. He was the first President of the National Association of Broadcasters in […]

    Continue reading »

  • Richard Dudley

    Richard Dudley

    As its President, he built Wausau’s WSAU radio and television into a major national firm, Forward Communications Corporation with radio and television stations in Wisconsin, Minnesota, Illinois, Iowa, Texas, Florida and West Virginia. President of Wisconsin Broadcasters Association in 1977-78. Chairman of National Association Broadcasters Radio Board from 1967 to […]

    Continue reading »

  • Haydn Evans

    Haydn Evans

    Green Bay broadcasting pioneer who guided the fortunes of WTAQ (later WBAY and WGEE) radio for 28 years. He put Green Bay’s first television station, WBAY-TV, on the air in 1953 and later oversaw the development of a third sister station, WBAY-FM in 1960. Haydn Evans passed away in 1974.

    Continue reading »

  • William Forrest

    William Forrest

    An early Wisconsin broadcast pioneer whose first station’s call letters, WIBU, stood for “Wind Is Being Used” to note the windmills which generated electricity to run the station. After establishing WIBU in 1925, he also founded WWCF in Baraboo in 1948 and WRDB in Reedsburg in 1953. William Forrest passed […]

    Continue reading »

  • Earl Gillespie

    Earl Gillespie

    Earl Gillespie was the radio voice of the Milwaukee Braves throughout their time in Milwaukee from 1953 to 1965. During his 38 year career, he was also the radio voice of UW Badgers football, Marquette University football and basketball in the 1950ies and 1960ies. He was the first sports broadcaster inducted into the Wisconsin Broadcasters Hall of Fame in 1989. Read More

    Continue reading »

  • Ben Hovel

    Ben Hovel

    A broadcast pioneer who began his career as a morse code telegraph operator recreating area basketball games. His 43 year career included service at radio stations WIBA, Madison, WSAU, Wausau, WTMJ, Milwaukee, WHBL, Sheboygan and WKOW radio/television, Madison. He was the third President of the Wisconsin Broadcasters Association in 1955-56. […]

    Continue reading »

  • Eddy Jason

    Eddy Jason

    In 1989, celebrated 68 years in the entertainment business and 42 years on the “Party Line” show at the same Green Bay station, WGEE, originally known as WTAQ. He made his radio broadcasting debut in 1932 and his career included silent movies in 1920’s and live theatre barnstorming in the […]

    Continue reading »

  • Joseph Killeen

    Joseph Killeen

    His fifty years in broadcasting began at WJMS, Ironwood, Michigan in 1932. His sales and management career included service at radio stations WSAU, Wausau, and WTMJ, Milwaukee. He served as the second Executive Director of the Wisconsin Broadcasters Association from 1974-1982. Joseph Killeen passed away on September 10, 1982.

    Continue reading »

  • Ben Laird

    Ben Laird

    Ben Laird was one of the founders and the first President of the Wisconsin Broadcasters Association in 1951. He began his fifty year broadcasting career as a sports announcer at WHBY, Appleton. Headed the Green Bay Broadcasting Company that included radio stations WDUZ AM/FM, Green Bay, WDUX AM/FM, Waupaca and […]

    Continue reading »

  • Harold McCarty

    Harold McCarty

    A pioneer of educational radio and television in Wisconsin, he was a major force behind the establishment of Madison’s WHA radio in the 1920’s and WHA-TV in the 1950’s. One of the first to visualize a state radio network, he served for 36 years as Director of the Wisconsin State […]

    Continue reading »

  • Morgan Murphy

    Morgan Murphy

    A media pioneer who built his broadcast career on the foundations of a four-state newspaper organization. He built radio stations WEBC, Superior, in 1924 and WEAU, Eau Claire, in 1937 and others in Hibbing and Virginia, Minnesota and Lafayette, Louisiana. The advent of television saw him building again at Eau […]

    Continue reading »

  • Bruce Wallace

    Bruce Wallace

    Began his broadcast career as a news reporter in Omaha, Nebraska and Dayton, Ohio, before moving to WTMJ radio, Milwaukee in 1945. In his 22 years at WTMJ he managed the publicity, merchandising, sales promotion, research, public relations and public service activities. In 1964, he became the first non-owner, non-manager […]

    Continue reading »